Author Topic: "the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"  (Read 36645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chriskross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« on: November 21, 2004, 03:01:15 PM »
Hi,

I'm hoping you could help me with the "the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error" error.  I've done what the FAQ told me to do but the problem still persists.

I am running Windows XP Pro with SP2. This problem started when I upgraded to the v4.5. Tell me if you need anymore information regarding my system.

Thanks for your time and help.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41017
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2004, 03:54:05 PM »
chriskross
Welcome to the forum.
Did you try the following?
onthe icon in the task bar and avast will not start with the Message "the aavm has detected a RPCerror"

RPC error most likely are correct by this procedure:
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

and will not open if you go into the menue. If you click on the desk top icon it say " PROGRAM COULD NOT GET STORAGE"

Storage problems are generally solved when you repair your installation.
If it does not work, download avast External Control (see the link in my signature), change the storage method from ODBC to XML (you can do it manually if you want, see 'Settings' on my signature).  ;)
Let us know how you make out. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2004, 03:58:35 PM »
chriskross, what happens if you run the program itself (an on-demand scan)? Does that work?

Also, did you try to start the avast service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services)? If so, did it succeed? If not, what error message did you get?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline chriskross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2004, 04:11:37 PM »
bob3160: I've tried your suggestion but it still won't work. I've already uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled again, but to no avail.

Vlk: Ok, now the problem just got bigger. On-demand scan doesn't work as well. I get "Unknown error. Scan Completed with error: 87 = The parameter is incorrect.

I've tried to stop and restart avast, and there was no error message until I actually clicked on the avast icon in the system tray, and when I try to run an on-demand scan.

Thanks for the speedy response, guys.

Offline noah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2004, 04:18:33 PM »
Hi .. i'm having the same prob ... i just got the avast upgraded and it doesn't work  ??? :-[ :'(
in addition to that .. theres a pop up
http://www.winantivirus.com/landing/winav_pro.php?aid=nlwav20041119&lid=avast

did dat came from avast?

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2004, 04:23:26 PM »
OK in this case it's quite evident that the reason is that you are using a pre-release (beta or RC) version of XP SP2. Unfortunately, version 4.5.523 does not work with this setup.

You should update your system to the official SP2 build (2158) - running a beta of the SP is not a good idea anyway.

Alternatively, you can update your avast to the 4.5.529 beta - which should work OK even on the pre-relase versions of SP2.


Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2004, 04:24:55 PM »
Quote
in addition to that .. theres a pop up
http://www.winantivirus.com/landing/winav_pro.php?aid=nlwav20041119&lid=avast


This URL opened automatically in your browser? In this case, you must have some adware installed, it's definitely not avast...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline noah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2004, 04:38:12 PM »
sorry do bug again... :( hehe .. but where can i get  4.5.529 beta version of avast?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41017
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chriskross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2004, 04:58:08 PM »
Hmm, I have been experiencing some problems trying to update my WinXP. Everytime I use Windows Update, it just gives me a Page Not Found error.

So its more of a WinXP problem than avast? Will try out other alternatives and let you know if they work. Thanks again.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2004, 10:24:23 PM »
Page Not Found error

Check your firewall settings...
The best things in life are free.

Offline jerrar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2004, 11:39:36 AM »
Hi everybody!! I use avast since 1 year ago... and i've never had any problem.. but now i install a new 10/100 lan card, to use my ethernet adsl modem, and avast 4,and 4.5 gives me a problem: when i restart my pc, avast av doesnt'work correctly, blocking my pc, and i see near avast icon (in sistem tray) a red (/)... and if i click on the icon it say : "the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error". After 3 minutes the red (/) disappear and my pc start s working correctly...
I've tried to follow the Faq on avast main site, but with any result...
can you help me?
Thanks!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2004, 12:27:21 PM »
Jerrar, I have the same configuration of you (10/100 lan card) and not a problem with avast. RPC error is most likely correct by this procedure:
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the pop up window (Repair).

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Do you have any other antivirus installed in your computer?
Did you have in the past? Which one?
RPC error is generally related to other antivirus present or, at least, firewall blocking. Do you use a firewall? Which one?

Welcome to forums!  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline jerrar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2004, 07:30:43 PM »
Jerrar, I have the same configuration of you (10/100 lan card) and not a problem with avast. RPC error is most likely correct by this procedure:
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the pop up window (Repair).

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Do you have any other antivirus installed in your computer?
Did you have in the past? Which one?
RPC error is generally related to other antivirus present or, at least, firewall blocking. Do you use a firewall? Which one?

Welcome to forums!  ;)

thanks for welcome!
I've only used always avast av, since i've formatted my pc....  
i'm using sygate personal firewall... but the strange thing is that avast yesterday was perfect, it was working perfectly...
after i install my 10/100 card and start the problem!! i've uninstall-reboot-reinstall 5 times... and i've try to repair from control panel... it's strange... it stay blocked for 3 minutes and after it starts working normallly....

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31366
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:"the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error"
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2004, 08:00:18 PM »
This is caused by the way Windows loads applications and drivers at boottime. I suggest you use StartUp.cpl to see what is loading and remove everything that is not needed for the system to function properly.

If that doesn't solve it, use the search function on this board. In several places is a util mentioned with which you can select how Windows should load things and in what sequence. (Sorry, can't remember the name of it)

Very likely the delay you are experiencing is caused by the new drivers. Did you uninstall/removed any old drivers before installing the new NIC?
« Last Edit: November 25, 2004, 08:02:38 PM by Eddy »