Author Topic: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations  (Read 146038 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tonialb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #105 on: February 29, 2012, 03:07:11 AM »
Nice work. Thnx! ;)
Windows 7 Ultimate 32/64bit SP1, Avast Internet Security 2014, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.75 Free, Mozilla Firefox 25.

Offline Rompin Raider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #106 on: February 29, 2012, 04:18:51 AM »
The hiccups are gone...re-installed tonight and everything looks good! Thanks Avast!! 8)
Win10 v2004-64 bit 8G Avast Premium Security/uBlock Origin

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #107 on: February 29, 2012, 09:37:55 AM »
Downloaded it and it said my installation did not have the problem. Once again I managed to avoid a bad VPS file. I've never been bitten by one yet . ;D

@Dch48,

Same here.

But I have another way other than the way quoted later in the post: 

Have your DSL modem go kaput for a couple of days, and you will miss everything.  Nice that I got a better modem than the one I had, and for free, too!

Sometimes it is just luck.

Unbelievable!  I am talking about all of the stuff in the thread above.

I think with the change to cloud hybrid vps computing, there were (and are) going to be some mistakes, some of which is possibly due to some major code re-writing in version 7.0.1407, resulted in increased complexity, and member's reporting and experiences certainly reflect this.  New features are not without risks.  Elsewhere in the forum some were reporting FSS hyperactivity to the point of where their systems were slowed to a crawl.

I've got an idea. 

Maybe perhaps some program running on a user's system interferes with proper installation (and everyone's system is different, certainly not running the programs I run) of version 7?  For example, I make it a point to turn off all non-Microsoft programs via msconfig, reboot, and then install the antivirus program.  (For some reason I did not this time, as I upgraded directly to v 7, but normally this is a step I do.)  This way I have got a system that is doing a clean boot with only minimal and essential services running, and no extra startup items running in the background.  Something to maybe keep in mind?   ;D

An antivirus program, no matter who the vendor of choice is, is one of the most critical programs an user can run.

EDIT:  I remember why I did not follow my own advice above.  It was because I was online and downloading the upgrade files for version 7 at the time.  Oops.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 09:44:56 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline loveaavast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #108 on: February 29, 2012, 02:44:37 PM »
Thanks :)

Offline div_dib

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #109 on: March 01, 2012, 06:16:12 AM »
Today Morning I Download new Avast! VPS and fortunately I can update Avast successfully.  :)

Offline frg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #110 on: March 02, 2012, 02:47:39 PM »
Same here, impossible to update !!! :-[

Config: Win7 64 bits
Product: Avast Internet Security

I tried all I could find:

- First fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:11) :(

- Second fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:2) :( :(

- Full install avast7r2beta/avast_internet_security_setup.exe:
1°) Error reading product data from "C:\Program File\AVAST\Software\Avast\setup". Setup cannot continue ???
2°) An error 0 (00000000) has occured. Last performed operation was: spawning ??? :-[ >:( :'(

What do you propose?

Offline ralf123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #111 on: March 02, 2012, 03:03:37 PM »
Same here, impossible to update !!! :-[

Config: Winxp 32 bits
Product: Avast free

I tried all I could find:

- First fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:11) :(

- Second fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:2) :( :(

- Full install avast7r2beta/avast_internet_security_setup.exe:
1°) Error reading product data from "C:\Program File\AVAST\Software\Avast\setup". Setup cannot continue ???
2°) An error 0 (00000000) has occured. Last performed operation was: spawning ??? :-[ >:( :'(

What do you propose?
grazie

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #112 on: March 02, 2012, 03:12:34 PM »
Sounds like you would need to do a clean install. I guess if you tried an avast Repair from Programs & Features, Uninstall/Change, you would get a fatal error in avast.setup file not found, etc.

- Download the latest version of avast, 7.0.1407 http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe (or the avastr2beta version) and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, aswClear.exe find it here and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for 5.x, 6.0.x and 7.0.x).
  • 1. Now uninstall avast! (using Programs & Features, Uninstall/Change, if you can't do that start from the next step), reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility from safe mode, first for 6.x if previously installed and then for 7.0, once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline frg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #113 on: March 02, 2012, 04:29:03 PM »
Uninstall + reinstall worked fine! 8)

Offline ralf123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #114 on: March 02, 2012, 04:43:18 PM »
in avast free 7.0.1407  manual update program :

It stopped at
Step 1 / 3
File Downloaded: part-setup_ais-57f.vpx

Same here, impossible to update !!!

Config: Winxp 32 bits
Product: Avast free

I tried all I could find:

- First fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:11)

- Second fix utility:
Your avast! installation doesn't seem to have the problem this fix is supposed to solve (code:2)

- Full install avast7r2beta/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
1°) Error reading product data from "C:\Program File\AVAST\Software\Avast\setup". Setup cannot continue
2°) An error 0 (00000000) has occured. Last performed operation was: spawning

What do you propose?
grazie

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #115 on: March 02, 2012, 05:01:39 PM »
Uninstall + reinstall worked fine! 8)

Thanks for the feedback.

EDIT: @ ralf123
I suggest that you follow the same instructions.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline cadremis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
  • Proud Mexican Avast User
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #116 on: March 02, 2012, 07:42:01 PM »
I just updated to version 7.0.1414 and everything is now fine in computer number 1... tks..rm
1.-W/7 Ultimate SP1,32bts Intel Core 2 CPU 6300 1.86Ghz 2G RAM Intel G965.
Avast Free 7.0.1474, Online Armor Free Firewall 6.0.0.1736, Firefox 17.01, SandBoxie 3.76,Free,Mbam & SAS,PandaUSB Vaccine

Offline julie_garin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #117 on: March 03, 2012, 12:51:36 PM »
Hi,

i cannot update, uninstall, avast antivirus
i tried the fix
i tried to reboot in safe mode but windows7 doesn't cause the antivirus lock it
then i cannot use awclear
i tried to update the avast antivirus but not working the message is
avast setup fatal error
error reading product data from c:\program files\alwil Software\avast5\setup\". Setup cannot continue


Where is the solution ????
@
Julie

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #118 on: March 03, 2012, 02:59:49 PM »
I believe a clean reinstall will be your quickest and best option, see my Reply #112 above, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=94514.msg756058#msg756058.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline woohoo71

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IMPORTANT! Fix utility for corrupted avast! v6/v7 installations
« Reply #119 on: March 06, 2012, 08:17:48 AM »
I click on the link and the pop up for open, save, etc. appears for only 1 to 2 seconds then disappears. I caught it in time once and clicked on save then chose 'desktop'. The download looked like it was happening but then nothing appeared on my desktop so I can't update my version (6.0137) and I can't download the fix. I need help!