Author Topic: ashServ.exe memory usage  (Read 95291 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mathboyx215

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 449
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #45 on: August 29, 2009, 11:27:56 PM »
AS I said before.... the previous version of AVAST! was fine!
So I don't think there is another software that is causing the conflict.

And yes you are right disabling the services and restart them to get
rid of this behavior is not a good method but much better as rebooting the system
many times a day .... ;D


Try this trick:
Open the on access scanner by left clicking the "a" icon once.
Go to the standard shield and click on customize.A little window should appear.
Close that window and the memory usage of ashserv.exe will drop


It is not possible to divide anything by zero

ashserv

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #46 on: August 29, 2009, 11:32:16 PM »
Try this trick:
Open the on access scanner by left clicking the "a" icon once.
Go to the standard shield and click on customize.A little window should appear.
Close that window and the memory usage of ashserv.exe will drop

No sry that just increase the memory-usage about 1MB
but anyway thx for trying to help  ;)

popish

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #47 on: August 30, 2009, 12:19:01 AM »
Tech,
There are no dump or log files there.

I supplied a dump 2 days ago to your ftp server, and so did someone else. We got no response, we were not told if someone was working on the problem or not.

I can't kill the process, task manager will not let me. Process explorer does, but then it won't come up again so I am left completely without protection.

The trick with the customize reduces the ACTIVE page set temporarily, NOT the virtual allocation which is the problem here. See my response there.

Tech,
I think you are being very short sighted here.
We reported a problem, a serious one, that you don't know the cause of.
You had a chance to check it out before it becomes acute with a lot of users.
But you in your wisdom decided that it is not important enough.

How do you know how many users it is affecting ? my system is not special, I don't have any special installation that can cause this. It is going to happen to a LOT of your users. People just haven't figured out yet that their system is slow because of you. But they will. And you will get the phone calls.
I am willing to bet on it.

I want to see you telling your paying customers that you are too busy to solve this.....

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #48 on: August 30, 2009, 12:43:38 AM »
The issue is being investigated.

Btw, you also have no idea what the problem may be caused by - so saying that it will affect a lot of users is just as unsubstantiated as anything else. And, Tech is a user like you (well, almost) - so he certainly won't receive any calls.

Anyway, thanks for the dumps.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2009, 12:47:57 AM by igor »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #49 on: August 30, 2009, 12:46:41 AM »
your ftp server
I'm still an user like you. Their ftp server.

and so did someone else. We got no response, we were not told if someone was working on the problem or not.
I can ask, but why would they give me more attention than to you?

I can't kill the process, task manager will not let me. Process explorer does, but then it won't come up again so I am left completely without protection.
Killing the process won't be the solution. You need to manually dump the process and send the dump for analysis. They could discover what is conflicting.

The trick with the customize reduces the ACTIVE page set temporarily, NOT the virtual allocation which is the problem here. See my response there.

Tech,
I think you are being very short sighted here.
We reported a problem, a serious one, that you don't know the cause of.
You had a chance to check it out before it becomes acute with a lot of users.
But you in your wisdom decided that it is not important enough.
Sorry, I'm an user... I wish someday I get hired by Alwil team, then, maybe, I could help more.

How do you know how many users it is affecting ? my system is not special, I don't have any special installation that can cause this. It is going to happen to a LOT of your users. People just haven't figured out yet that their system is slow because of you. But they will. And you will get the phone calls.
I am willing to bet on it.
I want to see you telling your paying customers that you are too busy to solve this.....
I'm not considering your case less than any other.
Just that my technology knowledge finished... I can't guess further.
They could, with the dumps.
The best things in life are free.

popish

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #50 on: August 30, 2009, 01:03:54 AM »
Tech,
Sorry, but when you call yourself tech and under your name it says , "avast technical", I assumed that you work for them.
Also, the way you answered seemed to indicate that.
Maybe they should re-consider the titles they accord users. I stumbled upon this forum by accident when searching with a description of my problem, I have no idea how things work here, and I don't know who is what.

But, at least now I got an answer from THEM finally. And I hope they solve this. And I am still willing that the problem is affecting a large number of users.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #51 on: August 30, 2009, 09:37:34 PM »
Sorry, but when you call yourself tech and under your name it says , "avast technical", I assumed that you work for them.
1. My original login name was Technical. I've started to use the nickname a long time ago...
2. The group/name "avast Technical" is an Alwil initiative and it is related to the number of my posts. I know it's a little bit higher than I deserve, also the stars could let some users to confuse me with an Alwil team member... What can I do? I've already mentioned this "situation" to Vlk (program manager).
The best things in life are free.

popish

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #52 on: August 30, 2009, 10:59:54 PM »
I find it odd that they allow users to say this
 
right now avast 5 is being developed (specifically, we're on beta phase).
The priority of the troubleshooting version 4 is not high IF they do not affect most of the users.


It sounds like Avast policy, and can get them into trouble.

For someone like me, who just popped in to fix a problem, who can't tell who is employee and who isn't, it sounded like Avast was saying we got more important things to worry about than customers. And that is not wise.
It may be true, but you don't say it. Not if you want to keep your users.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11655
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #53 on: August 31, 2009, 03:45:33 PM »
This is an issue that will deserve a new build. I assume it will be released sometime next week.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

ashserv

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #54 on: August 31, 2009, 07:19:10 PM »
Thx Vlk for the Info about the new build!!!
And also thx Tech for helping trying to workaround this issue
or rather trying to give instructions helping find the cause of this!!

Well some statements might be not the "best" ones but hey a day got 24 hours,
all people have different configs and many people were screaming for help here,
so I think service is still very good in this Forum!!

We all can misunderstood eachother and so on .... that's human :)

Also I hope nobody misunderstand's this post of mine
cause I'm german and my english might be very rubbish ;)

greatz

Wilson

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #55 on: August 31, 2009, 08:26:55 PM »
Thx Vlk for the Info about the new build!!!
And also thx Tech for helping trying to workaround this issue
or rather trying to give instructions helping find the cause of this!!

Well some statements might be not the "best" ones but hey a day got 24 hours,
all people have different configs and many people were screaming for help here,
so I think service is still very good in this Forum!!

We all can misunderstood eachother and so on .... that's human :)

Also I hope nobody misunderstand's this post of mine
cause I'm german and my english might be very rubbish ;)

greatz
Your English is actually really good!

Looking forward to the new build!

maxxx126

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #56 on: September 01, 2009, 01:23:22 AM »
To temporarily fix the problem, go to Avast Settings, "Troubleshooting" tab and check the box "Disable avast! self-defense protection".
Then you can go to your services, stop and restart the "avast! Antivirus" service.

This is the only way I found to reduce the VM used by ashServ.exe. It will grow back when you surf of course... but at least you don't have to reboot the system.


popish

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #57 on: September 01, 2009, 01:02:48 PM »
Can you explain exactly how you stop and restart the services.
I can force a restart with process explorer but then how do you restart it ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #58 on: September 01, 2009, 01:30:21 PM »
You can use
net start ashServ.exe
net stop ashServ.exe

But really, it's not a good thing to keep the self-defense module off and even worse disable the antivirus protection.
The best things in life are free.

Joost

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe memory usage
« Reply #59 on: September 01, 2009, 01:33:05 PM »
You don't need process explorer. To start and stop services, in Windows press start-run and typ services.msc

In the list you can find the "avast! Antivirus" service and restart it.