Author Topic: Program update 7.0.1451  (Read 246914 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rt2000

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #210 on: July 01, 2012, 02:21:06 PM »
Hi All

I'm new to the forum and reading through this thread over the past 12 or so hours I notice problems with email (among others). I've used Avast! for around 12 months now, licensed Pro version, and it has worked fine until yesterdays update. Since then I haven't been able to retrieve any mail at all unless I turn off the 'Mail Shield' - 'Scan inbound messages' option.

My client, Pegasus Mail, connects to the Mail server but then retrieves nothing with the mail staying on the mail server and the server closing the connection.

I have posted a 'request support ticket' with the AVAST Tech support team but had nothing back yet.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

Ron

guta89

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #211 on: July 01, 2012, 03:20:07 PM »
I have probem,avast! WebRep not working now on Opera and Firefox,what is the problem?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87078
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #212 on: July 01, 2012, 03:34:21 PM »
Can other XP SP3 users chime in on 1451?  Is it causing problems for you as noted by Nawach two posts above and also in this thread here:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100359.0

I don't know if it's a memory leak or what the problem is but it has happened on three of my XP computers after updating to 1451.

I can.  WinXP SP3 Home with Outpost Firewall.  System is good for about 30 minutes.

(RMB)

Check my signature and you will see it pretty well matches yours and I haven't noticed any leak. My system is on all day and only off at night and no memory issues (see images, system has been on for a few hours).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Defence

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #213 on: July 01, 2012, 03:58:15 PM »
I do not want to update the program because ı have a adsl internet quota problem, is it problem ?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76115
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #214 on: July 01, 2012, 04:00:40 PM »
I do not want to update the program because ı have a adsl internet quota problem, is it problem ?

No, you can always update later.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rmburton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #215 on: July 01, 2012, 04:02:58 PM »
Can other XP SP3 users chime in on 1451?  Is it causing problems for you as noted by Nawach two posts above and also in this thread here:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100359.0

I don't know if it's a memory leak or what the problem is but it has happened on three of my XP computers after updating to 1451.

I can.  WinXP SP3 Home with Outpost Firewall.  System is good for about 30 minutes.

(RMB)

Check my signature and you will see it pretty well matches yours and I haven't noticed any leak. My system is on all day and only off at night and no memory issues (see images, system has been on for a few hours).

Glad it is working for you.  Right now I have all my shields disabled so I can get some backups and syncs finished.  Not good.  Will try to start turning shields on one at a time to narrow down which one is causing the problem later today.  By the time I got the problem figured out, I could not get any screen prints, and even Ctrl+Alt+Delete would not work, so I just turned shields off after reboot.  Am following http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100359.0 mentioned above, as it describes my system symptoms very well.

(RMB)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87078
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #216 on: July 01, 2012, 04:15:33 PM »
It isn't saying that it isn't a problem, which it clearly is, just that is isn't (or doesn't appear to be) effecting all XP SP3 systems. I would say you should contribute to the other topic you mentioned, with your system information and symptoms.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

cdbma

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #217 on: July 01, 2012, 05:27:32 PM »
Two questions on the Outlook plugin (I have Outlook 2003)
- can the plugin be disabled/removed?
- if the plugin cannot be removed, how can I move the toolbar and have it "stick?"  It currently adds a third line in my Outlook window.  I move it up and to the right, so that it abuts another toolbar on the line above.  However, when I close and restart Outlook, the toolbar moves back to the third line.  Bugs me!

Thanks.

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #218 on: July 01, 2012, 06:21:56 PM »
getting more and more issues at Win8RP startup, ie a blue screen (no BSOD) telling me that my computer ran into problems when starting and will be restarted. This has only started to happen since I installed AIS on this OS, meaning the current version of AIS and the recent RC.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87078
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #219 on: July 01, 2012, 06:27:58 PM »
It isn't saying that it isn't a problem, which it clearly is, just that is isn't (or doesn't appear to be) effecting all XP SP3 systems. I would say you should contribute to the other topic you mentioned, with your system information and symptoms.

Update:

By all accounts this is only present in win2k/winXP and I'm told the bug is fixed (and relates to rename operations). Now I don't know if that fix, means an internal program build awaiting release, I have asked that and awaiting confirmation.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Rixuel

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #220 on: July 01, 2012, 07:55:59 PM »
Since I updated the program, I notice I get that "Insuffisant Ressource system..." and that "image error" thing...

Google web browser crashed. then I can't use the web browser to access the internet anymore.

I try to use IE and FF, can't access.
I had to restart to use my computer correctly again..

I don't if the error is on Google's side or Avast's :/

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87078
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #221 on: July 01, 2012, 08:09:03 PM »
What is your OS ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

madclown

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #222 on: July 01, 2012, 08:14:04 PM »
Hi everyone,

Same problem as StaticGuy here, with Win XP SP3 Home Edition.
At first start, everything seems to load correctly, then WinPatrol warns me about "new" IE helpers and add-ons, that have been installed for ages (it starts with Avast WebRep interestingly).
Then, font display is corrupted in the task bar, icons appear and disappear when browsed on and off

EDIT:
Not quite sure what happened here...? My problem seems to have fix itself without any intervention from me, except a 5th or 6th reboot in Safe Mode. It's been 15min and everything looks fine.
I took the opportunity to check "load Avast services after system services" in the Settings section. Don't know if it will help in anyway, actually...

Will keep you in the loop if anything changes

I'm having the same problem with two computers that are using Win XP SP3. Some text turns black, images and text disappear when scrolling over them (for example, in the start menu), and a bunch of error messages pop up. The only temporary fix I have found is just to reboot my computer and just wait until it starts happening again. Hope they fix this soon.

Offline GEGEPING

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • Ma Galerie Flickr
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #223 on: July 01, 2012, 08:28:53 PM »
Hi,

Same problem as described upper :o

I have 3 computers:

XP PRO SP3 problem
XP PRO SP2 problem
XP Family SP3 problem

Well, i think that all OS must be impacted by this bug. :o

Hope they'll fix it very soon too >:(

RIP Bx TZD TURBO 520140kms le 15/08/2015 et 26ans
Xantia ok jusqu'en 2018 et la C3 même punition@:
Dédicace à une fille merveilleuse Chloé qui a bien grandi:-)
Tonton d'une nièce nommée Chloé ^^ et du Mathieu dit le chinois

Nesivos

  • Guest
Re: Program update 7.0.1451
« Reply #224 on: July 01, 2012, 08:30:55 PM »
It isn't saying that it isn't a problem, which it clearly is, just that is isn't (or doesn't appear to be) effecting all XP SP3 systems. I would say you should contribute to the other topic you mentioned, with your system information and symptoms.

With all the gazillion XP updates since it was released it makes a bit harder to identify a problem on one XP system that doesn't exist on another.   By now there have probably been more more GB of updates than there were in the first XP RTM OS. ;D